FRJCD03 – Kuoyah – Iride»

IRIDE is the debut album of Italian musician Marco Donnarumma aka Kuoyah, whose artist debut also came through Frijsfo back in 2009. Iride is a long player weighing in at just under one hour and like his previous work it makes for intriguing, challenging yet rewarding listening. Iride in Italian translates to ‘Iris’, by the way…

These tracks were written and put together in spurts of productivity between 2012 and 2014. The first fruits dropped in 2013 via the strange yet well-received digital tracks ‘Freight / Rejo‘ – a different version of the latter appears on Iride’s opening stages. Boomkat called it “muscular dark garage moves such as the high-velocity ‘Freight’ and the slicing chops of ‘Rejo’, reminding of older Brackles or Blunted Robot styles…” whilst KMag included it in their top 10 Bass Music releases and said “‘Freight’s fractured 2-step beats, bloated bassline and steely stare make for a shadowy dance floor weapon that steals the show here. On the flip ‘Rejo’s slightly lighter disposition is manifested in bouncy tribal percussion, incomprehensible vocal cuts and warping chords”. Read More »

Coming soon – Kuoyah’s debut album: Iride»

Coming soon!

Frijsfo Beats presents SULLY / POINT B / KUOYAH @ The Portland, Cambridge, UK»

We’re doing a one-off event on November 5th in Cambridge and Sully is heading the bill… we’ll be announcing some more big Frijsfo names to the line-up soon but meanwhile there’s a limited number of cheap advance tickets available over here. Catch the fireworks on the common beforehand and then head over to The Portland Arms where it’ll be getting started. Show some love on the facebook event yeah. See you on Wednesday 5th November. Remember remember…

Read More »

Frijsfo Treats 10 – Chav and Dave»

Despite featuring on our first vinyl compilation with ‘Macked Out’, Chav and Dave never completed another release for Frijsfo. This doesn’t seem right, because along with Sully’s first 2step tracks and Atki2′s contributions to Werk Discs in 2006, the “terribly named” duo Chav and Dave inspired Frijsfo Beats’ conception as a record label. Some of us have come to terms with the fact that we’ll probably never witness one of their hilarious, legendary live shows again. However, years on, the ruff and ready old instrumentals still linger in the playlist, refusing to be forgotten. Made between 2003-2005, these pre-Frijsfo 2step classixxx by Chav and Dave are so much fun (and laden with uncleared samples) that we had to give them away.

Chav and Dave – Frijsfo Treats 10

1. Matalan Showdown (Wanna Make Sommin’ Of It? Mix)

2. Cry Me A River Island (Just In Your Mum Mix)

3. Dobamannzzz (Two Nelsons Read More »

DJ Oslek – Moon Underground Podcasts 1-8»

Here’s DJ Oslek’s podcast series with The Moon Underground (2011-2014) all in one place. Download each episode by clicking on the artwork and listen out for unreleased tracks, exclusive versions, demos, and mashups… There’s music in here that was intended for release on Frijsfo but it never happened because of dead hard drives, time constraints, sample clearance, lost files, other labels doing it instead (haha)… Enjoy.

DJ Oslek x The Moon Underground x ONE

“The first in a new podcast collaboration series from DJ Oslek (dj mix) and Moon Underground (illustration). Featuring new music from artists Sully, Klaar, Desto, and Sclist, plus music from the following labels: Rephlex, Perlon, Warp, 3024, Hemlock, DPR, Ramp, Keysound and Frijsfo Beats.” March, 2011

DJ Oslek x The Moon Underground x TWO

“Featuring new music from Cardopusher, Geiom, S-Max, Spatial, Kuoyah, Desto, Planes, and Sully, plus other music all from these labels: Frijsfo Beats, Schmorgasbord, Read More »

FRJ016 – Atki2»

OUT NOW! Buy at RWDFWD // Boomkat // Frijsfo Beats // or your local record shop.

Wire Magazine: “Sam Atkins mangles sound sources like a junglist. Between the waist-winding syncopations and chants of “Bubble” lies pure turbulence – drums contort, subs wriggle, percussion stretches like putty. The effect is undeniable: it’s tough to sit still, such is the temptation to jump up and start throwing gun fingers everywhere. On the flip’s “Galaxy Zoo”, sub pulses are earthy, clearly aimed straight below the belt, but paired with iridescent synth brass. The founder of Bristol’s Ruffneck Diskotek parties, and half of duos Monkeysteak and Dutty Inspectors, Atkins operates at the intersection where his home city’s rich bass city collides with other global sound system musics.”

Bass Clef said “these are great, a nice pairing of a banger and a more blissout summery number, loving the combination of ragga dancehall vibes and a bit of 4/4 technoey attitude great stuff : )” Read More »

FRJCD02 – Heart of Matter»

    • 1
    • Benefactor
    • 2
    • Silver Pictures
    • 3
    • Faded Patterns
    • 4
    • Surely Now
    • 5
    • Exception Rules
    • 6
    • Jasenovac
    • 7
    • Noctiluca
    • 8
    • Semaphore
    • 9
    • Body of Water
    • 10
    • Convergence

Point B’s fourth album Heart of Matter is his second for Frijsfo Beats, following up 2012’s epic and introspective musical voyage, The Veld. Read More »

FRJ015 – Frijsfo Beats Volume 4»

DJ Oslek continues his mission compiling Frijsfo’s special vinyl series, equipping you with the most vinyl-deserving of their substantial 2step arsenal. This time the music is from an allstar cast of UK producers. You can call it UK Garage music… Read More »

Frijsfo Treats 9 – Sully»

For Frijsfo Treats 9 we asked “the king of swing” Sully to mix up some 2step in support of Frijsfo Beats Volume 4, our new garage compilation. Rather than releasing one of his recent productions, Sully’s contribution ‘Feel It’ is actually an archive cut from 2008, Frijsfo’s fledgling year as a label and by all accounts a vintage year for Sully productions. Just listen back to ‘Phonebox’, ‘Trackside’, ‘Jackmans Rec’, ‘Broadway G’, and it’s clear he was onto something special and very much his own regardless of what it owed to classic garage and dubstep music. However, that’s history immortalised in the black wax, so instead of looking back we had a chat about where Sully is at musically in 2014, and this new mix of his. You can stream it on mixcloud or click the image to download:

FRIJSFO: Your contribution to Frijsfo Beats Volume 4, ‘Feel It’, is from 2008, a vintage year for Sully beats. You’ve done loads with your music since, what are you working on at the moment?

SULLY: I’ve just finished up an EP Read More »

SFO026 – Erra»

Check his mix and our interview with him HERE and you can now listen to the release at Frijsfo Beats soundcloud – go show it some love, it is OUT NOW!